Members of Bangsamoro Parliament to expedite BTA Bill No. 133 due to unified support of community in Carmen

MP Aida M. Silongan, Chairperson of Committee on Local Government. (Photo by LTAIS-Public Information, Publication, and Media Relations Division)

COTABATO CITY (June 11, 2023) – The Member of the Bangsamoro Parliament Engr. Aida Silongan in a consultation on the BTA Bill No. 133 that seeks to create new municipality of Kapalawan inside the BARMM Special Geographic Area (SGA) said that the unity of constituencies in Carmen, North Cotabato, have displayed as a compelling reason to expedite the passage of said bill.

The BTA Bill No. 133, based on a timeline, will set to be approved on August 2023, BTA said on social media. The Barangays of Kibayao, Kitulaan, Langogan, Manarapan, Nasapian, Pebpoloan, and Tupig from Carmen, North Cotabato will transfer to municipality of Kapalawan.

BTA Parliament also said that these barangays had previously petitioned and voted to be included in BARMM during the 2019 plebiscite.

During the consultation, different stakeholders in the area represented by various sectors have joined together and expressed their full support for the creation of the municipality of Kapalawan.

Indigenous Peoples (IP) sector Tribal Chieftain Rodolpho Palawan Jr. has registered his support and urged the BTA members present in the consultation to include and remembrance of the IPs in the bill once it is enacted. (Tu Alid Alfonso, BMN/BangsamoroToday, Photo by by LTAIS-Public Information, Publication, and Media Relations Division)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Previous post BARMM CSE Passers, 223 for Professional; 13 for Subprofessional
Next post BTA Bill No. 136 na lilikha ng munisipalidad ng Ligawasan, BARMM Special Geographic Area, suportado ng Pikit, North Cotabato