Bangsamoro Chief Minister establishes screening body for applicants to SGA towns positions

Turn-over of the newly established 8 municipalities of SGA that formally separated from its mother municipalities under the Province of Cotabato on a concluded plebiscite by the Commission on Election  Chairman George Erwin Mojica Garcia to BARMM Chief Minster Ahod “Alhaj Murad” B. Ebrahim at MILF Camp Darapanan, Sultan Kudarat, Maguindanao Del Norte. (Photo by Tu Alid Alfonso, BMN/BangsamoroToday)

COTABATO CITY (May 4, 2024) — Chief Minister Ahod B. Ebrahim has taken decisive steps to bolster governance in the Bangsamoro Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao (BARMM) with the establishment of the Ad Hoc Screening and Review Committee for Applicants to Municipal Positions in the Special Geographic Area (SGA).

This move, announced through Executive Order No. 001, Series of 2024, comes in response to recent legislative developments by the Bangsamoro Transition Authority (BTA) Parliament.

The enactment of Bangsamoro Autonomy Act (BAA) Nos. 41 to 48 paved the way for the creation of eight new municipalities within BARMM, a decision solidified by a successful plebiscite held on April 13, 2024. The newly created municipalities are Kadayangan, Kapalawan, Ligawaan, Malidegao, Nabalawag, Old Kaabakan, Pahamudin, and Tugunan.

Under the legal framework provided by BAA No. 49, the appointment of municipal officials becomes paramount. Chief Minister Ebrahim’s establishment of the Ad Hoc Screening and Review Committee, chaired by Atty. Sha Elijah B. Dumama-Alba from the Ministry of the Interior and Local Government (MILG), signifies a commitment to transparent and inclusive governance.

The committee, composed of diverse officials including the Cabinet Secretary Mohd Asnin K. Pendatun, Chief of Staff Alvin-Yasheer K. Abdulgafar, Deputy Floor Leader Atty. Mary Ann Arnado, a Member of Parliament Baileng S. Mantawil, and the Provincial Administrator of Maguindanao del Norte Tomanda Antok, PhD, is tasked with rigorously assessing applicants for municipal positions. Their goal is to ensure not only competence but also fair representation, especially of women, in BARMM’s local governance.

With a timeline of 45 days from the issuance of the executive order, the committee aims to present a shortlist of nominees for each municipal vacancy. Supported by the Office of the Cabinet Secretary (OCS) and the Office of the Chief of Staff (OCOS) of the Office of the Chief Minister (OCM), the committee’s operations are set to run smoothly.

Chief Minister Ebrahim’s proactive approach underscores a commitment to efficiency and inclusivity in BARMM’s governance. By laying the groundwork for transparent and accountable leadership in the region’s newly formed municipalities, the administration seeks to pave the way for sustainable development and prosperity for all Bangsamoro constituents. (Sahara A. Saban, BMN/BangsamoroToday)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Previous post MBHTE Enhances Learning Environment in Lanao del Sur and Maguindanao with Specially Designed Armchairs
Next post Bangsamoro Parliament Floor Leader Dumama-Alba Leads Medicine Distribution to Communities